New application- directions & help

Some key things to keep in mind: you can always save and come back to the application and log back in with the user name and password you create. Make sure you save before signing out.

Step #1- Follow the “Online” link http://www.boee.iowa.gov/licensure/new/teach.html
Use the application for “Teacher Licensure (Out of State Preparation)” then click on “Start” or use the “Login” icons.
Step #2- Start to enter your demographics and email address (user name) and create a password. When done with this page click on “next page” at the bottom right hand corner of the page.
Step #3- Type of licensure: You will be applying for an Iowa teacher license for an out-of-state applicant

Step #4- Upload the scan or PDF of your out-of-state license

Step #5- check “yes” or “no” to the two questions about your current status for Iowa.

Step #6- A- Indicate if you have been in the military

B- Enter your years of teaching experience

C- Enter your graduation date from your teacher preparation college.  Month and Year are most important, get as close as you can with date on calendar.

Step #7-Teacher Preparation Institution- enter information AND

Enter the email address of your teacher preparation college’s certification officer, or find that college within the list provided and the email will be sent.
Enter all other colleges/universities you have attended.
Then upload the scan or PDF or your official transcripts

Step #8- Experience: 
Experience forms, enter dates & places of employment AND put in email addresses of employers and our system can send them a generated form that will come back to us. You can also upload PDFs of employment verification letters.

Step #9- Highly Qualified verification.  You can upload the scans or PDFs or your test scores OR EdTPA rubric.
Step #10- Background information- enter any appropriate violations and complete pertinent questions

Step #10- Answer the background questions. If you answer “Yes,” to any question then provide an explanation in the text box.
Step #11- You can order the background packet here and then be printed at a law enforcement center near your home using our fingerprint cards. Then send them in the mail back to us.

OR if you are near to Des Moines, you can come to our office and be printed here electronically.  Coming to our office to be fingerprinted does expedite the processing time.

Step #12- Read and then digitally sign the statement of Fraud.

Step #13- Remit payment.  Put in $223 for the application fee ($85), evaluation ($60) and the background fee ($75).  This includes a $3 fee for the credit card use.
Step #14- If you have all documents inputted you can submit. However, if the certification officer has not submitted the Section II form it will not let you submit. Save and check back later.  
Please email if you have questions: david.wempen@iowa.gov
