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TO ALL INTERESTED PERSONS: 

 

Pursuant  to  Iowa Code section 68B.32A(11) and rule 351—1.2,  the  Iowa Ethics and Campaign 

Disclosure Board issues this opinion on when an attribution is not needed on express advocacy 

materials. We note at the outset that the Board’s jurisdiction is limited to the application of Iowa 

Code chapters 68A and 68B and rules in Iowa Administrative Code chapter 351.  

 

OPINION:  

 

In IECDB Advisory Opinion 2000‐34, the Board opined on the application of the “paid for by” 

attribution  statement  requirement  in  Iowa  Code  section  56.14
1 in light of the United States Supreme Court decision in McIntyre v. Ohio Elections Comm’n. In 

that  opinion,  the  Board  interpreted  the  phrase  “modest  resources”  as  an  individual,  acting 

independently, who spent $500 or  less of his or her own  resources on a ballot  issue.  In  those 

situations  the  individual  was  not  required  to  place  an  attribution  on  published  material 

concerning the ballot issue. 

 

The Board has since adopted rule 4.39(1)“e” that reduced the dollar amount to $1002. Therefore, 

an  individual, who acts  independently, and  spends $100 or  less  to  expressly advocate  for or 

against  a  ballot  issue  is  not  required  to  place  a  “paid  for  by”  attribution  statement  on  any 

published materials involving the ballot issue. 

 

In closing, IECDB Advisory Opinion 2000‐34 is hereby modified as set out in this opinion. 

 

BY DIRECTION AND VOTE OF THE BOARD 

 

Bernard McKinley, Board Chair  

1st Vice‐Chair Geraldine Leinen  

2nd Vice‐Chair James Albert  

Gwen Boeke  

Mark McCormick  

Phyllis Peters  

 

Submitted by: W. Charles Smithson, Board Legal Counsel 

                                                      
1 Effective July 1, 2003, that statute was renumbered as Iowa Code section 68A.405. In addition, the Board’s rules 

concerning the “paid for by” attribution have been renumbered as 351—4.38 through 4.41. 
2 The Board also notes that the 2004 legislature passed HF 2319 that by statute codifies the $100 threshold. As of 

the issuance date of this opinion, the bill was awaiting signature into law by the Governor. 


