Who We Are

What We Do


Crime Victim Assistance Division

Crime Victim Assistance Board Members

The Crime Victim Assistance Board is appointed by the Attorney General and has statutory responsibility for adopting rules relating to the Crime Victim Assistance Division. The Board also conducts hearings and renders decisions on appeals of division decisions.

Mark Smith
Public Defender's Office, Des Moines

Patty Beaird
Represents Crime Victims, Keokuk

Patrick Jackson
Chair, Des Moines County Attorney, Burlington

Paul Fitzgerald
Story County Sheriff, Nevada

Mary Ingham
Crisis Intervention Service, Mason City

Sandra McGee, LMSW, Ph.D
Polk County Victim Services, Des Moines

Larry Wohlgemuth
Represents Older Iowans, West Des Moines

Linda Railsback, M.D.
Planned Parenthood of Greater Iowa, Des Moines

John Sturdy
Represents Crime Victims, Ankeny

Mary Roche
Iowa Department of Corrections, Des Moines


For more information, please call (515) 281-5044 or email Division Director Janelle Melohn.

Iowa Attorney General’s office
Crime Victim Assistance Division
Lucas Building, Ground Floor
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
Local: (515) 281-5044
Toll Free: (800) 373-5044
Fax: (515) 281-8199