A minimum of 28 credit hours in approved continuing education
programs acquired during the two year renewal period. Carryover
hours from a previous renewal term are not allowed. Iowa will accept
any continuing education programs approved by either the Appraisal
Qualifications Board (AQB) or other state appraiser boards
(providing supporting documentation from the licensing board is
attached). Qualifying education can count for continuing
education. However, continuing education can not count
for qualifying education. You may review approved courses
under "Iowa Approved Courses."
Continuing education topics must be directly related to appraisal such as:
1. real estate appraisal law and rules;
2. report writing;
3. cost approach;
4. sales approach;
5. income approach and USPAP.
A minimum of 7 of the required 28 credit hours must be the 7 hour National USPAP Update course.
of the required 28 credit hours may be completed online.
renewal year 2012, 7 hours of report writing is no longer required as a
condition of renewal.
All courses must be at least 3 hours
in length in order to qualify. For complete details, refer to
Chapter 11 of Administrative Rules 193F.
Beginning with 2013
renewals all required credit hours may be taken online.