Nonresident Certification and Licensure by Reciprocity
A nonresident of Iowa seeking certification in this state shall
apply on forms provided by the board and pay the appropriate fee
required in 193F-Chapter 12.
Last names A-K expire in even years. Last names L-Z expire
in odd years.
An applicant applying for initial registration or certification
within 12 months from the required renewal date, shall pay half the
required fee. An applicant applying for initial registration
or certification more than 12 months from the required renewal date
shall pay the full registration fee.
1. The board may issue a reciprocal certificate to an individual
that is certified in the individual's state of residence. The certificate
or license must be in good standing.
2. The board shall seek verification from the individual's home
state that the certificate is valid and in good standing. A reciprocal
certificate will not be issued without the verification.
3. A reciprocal certificate holder shall comply with all provisions
of the Iowa law and rules.
4. The board may exempt reciprocal applicants from the national
uniform examination provided the applicant successfully completed
an examination like or similar to the examination administered
by the board.
5. Reciprocal certificate holders shall be required to pay the
federal roster fee.