Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Salespersons and Brokers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Commission
Commission Members
Contact Commission Staff

Code of Iowa
Law Index -- Real Estate License Related Law


Licensing by Reciprocity


An applicant may qualify for licensure by reciprocity based upon their active license from another state.  The applicant must be a resident of the qualifying state, received their original license from that state and will have their Iowa license assigned to the same real estate company that holds that license.

If you do not meet all the requirements for licensure by reciprocity see how to receive licensure by Administrative Rule 5.3.

RECIPROCITY APPLIES TO applicants from states that have reciprocity agreements with Iowa (these states currently are AR, GA, LA, MA, MN, MS, ND, and WV.)

The steps in obtaining your Iowa license are:

Contact your state licensing agency and obtain a certificate of license history (letter of good standing.)  This document must also include the method of licensure (exam, reciprocity, other, etc.) and what real estate company holds your license.

Submit to a state and national criminal history background check through the Iowa Real Estate Commission.  To receive the required fingerprint packet please contact Jill Simbro at the Iowa Real Estate Commission via e-mail to Jill.Simbro@iowa.gov or by fax to 515-725-9032.  Your request will need to include your name and mailing address.  For any licensing questions please contact our Licensing Specialist or call 515-725-9022.

Once you have your certificate of license history and have submitted the required information for your criminal history background check you can submit a completed application for licensure and attach the following to your application:

  • Your original certificate of license history


  • Proof of errors and omissions insurance coverage in Iowa

  • Licensing fee ($125 for salespersons, $170 for brokers)

If we receive your licensing application prior to the background being completed the application will be processed with the license being held by the Commission.  Once the background is completed, reviewed and accepted a license will then be issued to your employing broker.  During the time a license is held by the Commission you are not authorized to perform any acts that require an active Iowa license, unless you currently hold an active Iowa salesperson license.

Broker officers will also need to license their firm if the firm is not yet licensed in Iowa.   Please contact the Commission for details.

Individual and business applications can be printed from applications.

If you have any questions about real estate licensing please contact our Licensing Specialist at 515-725-9022 or by e-mail to Licensing Specialist.

Return to Home Page

Comments/Report Bad Links

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.