Iowa Professional Licensing Division Real Estate Salespersons and Brokers Photo Header
Professional Licensing Home
About the Real Estate Commission
Commission Members
Contact Commission Staff
Frequently Asked Questions
Map and Driving Directions
to Our Office

Code of Iowa
Law Index -- Real Estate License Related Law

Administrative Rules
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Index (PDF)
Chapter 193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Analysis (PDF)
Rule Changes --193E Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

2000 Meeting Minutes

1918 SE Hulsizer Road
Ankeny, IA

December 14, 2000--MINUTES

Present: Evelyn Rank, Chair; Jim Hughes; Robert Miller; Barb Leestamper

Others present: Roger Hansen, Executive Secretary; Pam Griebel, Assistant Attorney General; Susan Griffel, Education Director; Paul McLaughlin, IAR; and Lori Kyle, staff.

Evelyn Rank called the meeting to order at 9:07 a.m. Leestamper moved, seconded by Miller, to go into closed session pursuant to Iowa Code 21.5(1)(d) and Iowa Code 21.5(1)(f). Roll call vote was as follows: Rank, aye; Leestamper, aye; Hughes, aye; Miller, aye. Motion carried unanimously.

The Commission entered into closed session at 9:08 a.m. and arose there from at 9:23 a.m.

Recommendations from the investigative committee were discussed.

Miller moved and Hughes seconded to accept the signed information settlements in complaint cases 99-127 and 00-094. Motion carried unanimously.

Hughes moved, seconded by Miller, to close the following cases: 00-128 & 00-129 00-145 00-124 00-126 00-150 00-133 00-123 00-151 00-138 00-134 & 00-136 00-152 00-146, 147 & 148 00-097 00-135 & 137

Leestamper moved, seconded by Miller to accept the minutes of the November 9, 2000, meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Future meetings:
No changes to regular meeting tentative schedule.

Investigation Committee Assignments:
January 24 (Barb Leestamper and Terry Rogers)
March 7 (Bob Miller and Jim Hughes)
April 11 (Evelyn Rank and Terry Rogers)

The Commission considered a request for waiver or variance of 193E-3.3(2), (4), and (6) by Ruth Hansen. Miller moved, Hughes seconded to grant variance to 3.3(2) and (6) to accommodate for disability by providing a one year extension to complete the continuing education requirement for renewal and allowing active status renewal; variance to 3.3(4) to allow all continuing education to be taken by correspondence was unnecessary at this time. Motion carried unanimously.

Griebel discussed the contested case administrative rules for the division. Minor changes were discussed including clarification of 7.10(22)(a). Miller moved, seconded by Hughes to adopt the proposed division rules, with the changes discussed, to file as Notice of Intended Action. Motion carried unanimously.

Greibel reported that she had been appointed to the legislative committee.

The January 24 meeting will be used to begin addressing review of IAC 193E Chapters 1, 2, 3, and 8 as required by Executive Order 8. The Committee will consist of Rank, Hughes, Leestamper, and Rogers.

Hansen advised the Commission that the upcoming newsletter would recognize those who were first to renew online. Bob Miller was the first salesperson; former commissioner Russ Nading was the first broker associate. Hansen added that online renewal usage was increasing.

Griffel stated that online renewals would be 'front-page' on the upcoming newsletter. She added that the newsletter has the 10th largest distribution of newspapers in Iowa with 33,000 copies.

Public comment:
Paul McLaughlin, IAR, gave an update on his involvement with the government housing taskforce, bar association proposals, and electronic reporting of declaration of value subcommittee. He added that they are requesting more money for the childhood lead poisoning taskforce. The current budget for statewide programs is $39,000/year.

Hughes moved, seconded by Leestamper, to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 11:27 a.m.

Map to our Office
Comments/Report Bad Links

Copyright © 2002 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement.