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Frequently Asked Questions 
Appeals of Decisions by a Sheriff or the Commissioner of 

Public Safety to Deny, Suspend, or Revoke a Permit to Carry 
or Acquire Firearms 

 
 
Q:  The sheriff or commissioner of public safety has denied my 
application for a permit to acquire or carry firearms, or suspended or 
revoked a permit that was previously granted.  Can I appeal that 
decision? 
 
A:  Yes, you may file an appeal through the process outlined below. 
 
Q:  How do I file an appeal? 
 
A:  You must file an appeal with the Administrative Hearings Division of the Iowa 
Department of Inspections and Appeals within 30 days of the receipt of the 
Sheriff’s or Commissioner of Public Safety’s decision.  The address is 402 East 9th 
Street, Wallace State Office Building, Third Floor, Des Moines, Iowa 50319.  The 
appeal must be in writing, and must clearly state the grounds supporting your 
appeal.  You must also file a copy of your appeal with the law enforcement office 
that denied, suspended, or revoked your permit.   
 
Q:  Is there a fee?  
 
A:  Yes.  You must file a fee of $10.00 when you file the appeal with the 
Administrative Hearings Division.  Checks may be made out to the Department of 
Inspections and Appeals. 
 
Q:  What will happen if I do not file my appeal and/or the $10 within 
30 days of the receipt of the sheriff’s or commissioner of public 
safety’s decision? 
 
A:  The Administrative Hearings Division may reject your appeal, and you may 
lose your right to appeal.  
 
Q:  If the denial, suspension, or revocation is solely based on 
information from the national instant criminal background check 
system, can I still appeal? 
 
A:  You may still appeal, but not to a state administrative law judge.  All appeals 
related to the national instant criminal background check system must be made 
pursuant to federal law. 
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Q:  What happens after I file my appeal? 
 
A:  The Sheriff or the Commissioner of Public Safety will provide you and the 
Administrative Hearings Division a copy of all documents used by the law 
enforcement office to make its decision.  The Administrative Hearings Division 
will set the case for hearing and issue a written notice stating the date, time, and 
format for the hearing.  The hearing will be set within 45 days of the date it is 
received by the Administrative Hearings Division. 
 
Q:  Where will the hearing be held? 
 
A:  The headquarters for the Administrative Hearings Division is in Des Moines, 
so most of the hearings will be conducted by telephone conference call.  The 
conference call is toll-free.  A party may request an in-person hearing by filing a 
request at least five days before the hearing.  All in-person hearings will be 
conducted in Des Moines.  The Administrative Law Judge may allow one party to 
appear in person and the other by telephone, upon that party’s request. 
 
The notice of hearing will set forth the directions to participate in the conference 
call.  It will be important for you to follow the directions at the time of the 
hearing.  If you do not participate in the conference call, the Judge may enter a 
decision against you. 
 
Q:  Do I need to hire an attorney for the hearing?   
 
A:  You are not required to hire an attorney, although you may do so at your own 
cost.  Attorneys are generally helpful because they understand procedure, the 
law, and they know how to present a case effectively.  However, Administrative 
Law Judges regularly hear cases involving unrepresented parties, so it is not 
unusual to proceed without an attorney. 
 
Q:  What do I need to do to get prepared for the hearing? 
 
A:  You must send a witness list and a copy of your exhibits to the Administrative 
Law Judge and the Sheriff or Commissioner of Public Safety at least five days 
before the hearing.  The Sheriff or Commissioner of Public Safety must do the 
same for you.  
 
The witness list lets the Judge and other party know who might testify.  You do 
not need to file a witness list if you are the only witness. 
 
Exhibits include any papers, photographs, or other documents that you believe 
might be useful to your case.   It is critical to provide exhibits early.  Most 
hearings are held by telephone, and it is difficult to explain your position if the 
Judge and other party does not have your exhibits.  You are not required to file 
exhibits, unless there are exhibits you want to use at hearing. 
 



 3

Q:  What will happen at hearing? 
 
A:  The Administrative Law Judge will allow each party to present evidence and 
arguments in support of that party’s case.  The Sheriff or Commissioner of Public 
Safety has the burden of proof and will proceed first.  
 
The Judge may first ask for opening statements, which is a chance to provide a 
summary of what the case is about.  An opening statement is not evidence.  The 
Judge may decide proceed directly to the evidence in less-complex cases. 
 
The next step is the presentation of evidence.  The Sheriff or Commissioner of 
Public Safety will present any exhibits and witnesses at that time.  Each witness 
will testify one at a time.  You have a right to ask each witness questions when his 
or her testimony is complete – this is known as cross-examination.  The Judge 
may ask questions as well.  When the Sheriff or Commissioner of Public Safety is 
done with his or her evidence, you will present your evidence.  The same rules 
apply to your presentation – you and your witnesses, if any, will testify one at a 
time, the Sheriff or Commissioner of Public Safety may cross-examine your 
witnesses, and the Judge might ask questions. 
 
After the evidence is fully presented, the Judge will ask for closing arguments.  
This is an opportunity to summarize the case.  A closing argument is not 
evidence.  If the argument has been fully discussed, a party may decide to waive 
closing argument.   
 
Q:  When will the Administrative Law Judge decide the case? 
 
A:  The Administrative Law Judge is required to issue a written decision, so it is 
rare for the Judge to announce a decision during the hearing.  The written 
decision must include findings of fact and conclusions of law as part of the 
decision.  The Judge will usually issue a decision within 30 days from the date of 
the hearing. 
 
Q:  If I lose my case before the Administrative Law Judge, can I 
appeal?  Can the Sheriff or Commissioner of Public Safety file an 
appeal if I win? 
 
A:  Either party may file an appeal by filing a petition for judicial review in 
district court.  A petition for judicial review must be filed within 30 days from the 
date of the Administrative Law Judge’s decision.   
 
Q:  If I change my mind, how do I stop the appeal process? 
 
A:  You may cancel the appeal and the hearing by filing a written withdrawal with 
the Administrative Hearings Division.  
 
 


