Mast Head

About Us

The Iowa Board of Pharmacy is comprised of five pharmacist members and two public members, all appointed by the Governor. They are assisted by an administrative staff headed by an executive secretary appointed by the Board.


The Board is responsible for regulating the practice of pharmacy and the legal distribution and dispensing of prescription drugs and precursor substances throughout the State. The responsibilities of the Board include but are not limited to:


All meetings of the Board are open to the public except, as provided by statute, for some exceptional reason so compelling as to override the general public policy in favor of public meetings and as permitted by Iowa Code section 21.5. Closed meetings shall only be by affirmative public vote of either two-thirds of the members of the Board or all of the members present at the meeting.

Driving Directions

For your convenience, we have included a link directly to the the Mapquest® search engine which provides driving directions and a map to the Board office.


Follow IABoardPharmacy on Twitter

Facebook Badges

About Us | Contact Us | ©2006 The State of Iowa. All Rights Reserved