If You Need Help:
If you need substance abuse treatment, information, or crisis counseling, contact the Iowa Substance Abuse Information Center
toll-free line at

ODCP Mission

The mission of ODCP is to serve as a leader and a catalyst for improving the health and safety of all Iowans by promoting strategic approaches and collaboration to reduce drug use and related crime.

Contact Us

Pape State Office Building
215 East 7th St, Fifth Floor
Des Moines, IA 50319

Phone: 515-725-0300
Fax: 515-725-0304

Drug Policy Advisory Council

The Drug Policy Advisory Council, established by Iowa Code Chapter 80E, is responsible for "making policy recommendations to the appropriate departments concerning the administration, development, and coordination of programs related to substance abuse education, prevention, treatment and enforcement."

Media Advisories

November 8, 2012 Media Advisory

February 14, 2013 Media Advisory

May 9, 2013 Media Advisory

October 10, 2013 Media Advisory

Meeting Agendas

November 8, 2012 Meeting Agenda

February 14, 2013 Meeting Agenda

May 9, 2013 Meeting Agenda

October 10, 2013 Meeting Agenda

Meeting Minutes

November 8, 2012 Minutes

February 14, 2013 Minutes

May 9, 2013 Minutes

October 10, 2013 Minutes

2013 DPAC Meeting Dates

2013 DPAC Meeting Dates - UPDATED


Council Membership

Chair: Director ODCP
Steven Lukan

Iowa Drug Policy Coordinator
Pape State Office Building
215 East 7th St, Fifth Floor
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 725-0300
Fax: (515) 725-0304

County Attorney
Jennifer Miller

Marshall County Attorney's Office
1 East Main Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158

Department of Corrections
Katrina McKibbin

Department of Corrections, Offender Services
510 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Department of Education
Cyndy Erickson

Student Health Services Consultant
Department of Education
Grimes State Office Bldg.
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Department of Human Services
Vern Armstrong

Division of Field Operations
Department of Human Services
Hoover State Office Bldg.
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Department of Public Health
Kathy Stone

Department of Public Health
Division of Behavioral Health and Professional Licensure
Lucas State Office Building
Des Moines, IA 50319

Department of Public Safety
Steve DeJoode

Department of Public Safety
215 E. 7th St.
Des Moines, IA 50319

Criminal & Juvenile Justice Planning
Paul Stageberg

Department of Human Rights
Div. of Criminal & Juvenile Justice Planning
Lucas State Office Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Iowa Peace Officers Association
David Lorenzen

Iowa Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Enforcement
6310 SE Convenience Blvd.
Ankeny, Iowa 50021

Iowa State Sheriffs and Deputies Association
Brian Vos

Warren County Sheriff's Office
P.O. Box 337
Indianola, Iowa 50125

Iowa State Police Association
Todd Thoeming

Davenport Police Department
416 N. Harrison Street
Davenport, Iowa 52801

Substance Abuse Treatment Director
Warren Hunsberger

Teen Challenge of the Midlands
900 N. League Rd.
Colfax, Iowa 50054

Substance Abuse Treatment Specialist
Jane Larkin

Youth and Shelter Services, Inc.
P.O. Box 1628
Ames, Iowa 50010

Prevention Specialist
Christina Wilson

Johnston Community Schools
P.O. Box 10
Johnston, Iowa 50131

Judicial Department
Honorable Thomas Bower

Judge, Iowa Appeals Court
Judicial Branch Building
1111 E. Court Avenue
Des Moines, Iowa 50319