State Assistance

State of Iowa Individual Disaster Assistance Grant Program (IIAGP)

IIAGP offers grants to families whose household’s annual income is at 200% or less of the federal poverty level. Each qualifying household MAY receive up to $5,000.00. The IIAGP is activated when the Governor issues a disaster proclamation turning on IIAGP for the affected counties. Please note - if a presidential disaster declaration for Individual Assistance is issued for a county for the same event, the state program is automatically canceled for that county, as the federal program then goes into effect. The federal program does not have an income restriction.

The application may be downloaded by clicking on Iowa Disaster Assistance Application. Applications can be turned in to a local Community Action Agency, go to to find your local agency. For the Iowa Individual Disaster Assistance Grant program information call toll-free 1-877-347-5678.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance for Linn County

Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is now available to eligible individuals as a result of a Major Disaster Declaration signed by President Trump on Aug. 17, 2020. Iowa Workforce Development (IWD) is accepting applications for DUA from individuals in Linn County whose employment or self-employment was lost or interrupted due to severe storms beginning Aug. 10, 2020. DUA expands eligibility for unemployment benefits and provides assistance to the self-employed, including business owners and farmers. Applications for DUA must be filed by Sept. 24, 2020.

Individuals who may be eligible for assistance, must file a claim online. Claim applications can be filed online at any time. If assistance is needed over the phone, please call IWD Customer Service at 1-866-239-0843. After a claim application has been submitted, refer to the additional DUA information on the IWD website.

Food Assistance Replacement Application

Households who currently receive Food Assistance may request replacement of food destroyed as a result of the recent storm damage, or spoilage as a result of a power outage. As a general rule, food will keep 4 hours if stored in a refrigerator, 24 to 48 hours if stored in a freezer. Households have until September 17, 2020 to complete the form requesting replacement of food loss.

  • Digital submission: Download and complete the application form (Español), then submit a clear image of the form to:
  • Forms are available at local DHS offices and are also available by mail. Completed paper forms can be submitted to local offices in person, by mail or by fax. Use our DHS Office Locator to find the one nearest you.

WIC Replacement

WIC families currently receiving benefits and living in Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Dallas, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Marshall, Muscatine, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story and Tama Counties can request to replace WIC foods. WIC foods purchased between the dates of August 1 and 10 and destroyed or spoiled as the result of storm damage or power outage may be replaced. Any WIC foods purchased after August 10 are not eligible for replacement. WIC families must contact their local WIC agency no later than August 31 to be considered for food replacement.

Visit the IDPH website at for more information on WIC and to find local offices.

Hot Food Waiver

Beginning August 24 through September 21, 2020 Electronic Benefits Transfer (EBT) and Pandemic Electronic Benefits Transfer (P-EBT) recipients will be able to use their Food Assistance benefits to purchase hot foods Linn County. Ordinarily excluded from eligibility, this waiver allows foods such as deli counter items, prepared pizza, and other hot meals may be purchased at participating retailers. Find participating retailers.

Iowa Disaster Case Management

Disaster Case Management is a time limited resource and process that involves a partnership between a disaster case manager and a household impacted by a disaster to develop and carry out a Disaster Recovery Plan. This partnership provides the client with a single point of contact to facilitate access to a broad range of resources, promoting sustainable assistance for individual’s and a household’s recovery. These services are client focused, and provided in a manner consistent with standards for trauma-informed practice in human services.

Contact your local Community Action Agency at to find your local agency.

Federal Assistance

FEMA Individual Assistance

Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Jasper, Linn, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story, and Tama County homeowners, renters, and businesses can apply for recovery assistance.

Call 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) 6 a.m.-9 p.m. or apply online at Have the following available:

  • Address and zip code
  • Condition of damaged home
  • Insurance information
  • Social Security number
  • Phone number where you can be contacted
  • Mailing or email address

SBA Assistance

Low-interest federal disaster loans are now available to Iowa businesses and residents as a result of President Trump’s major disaster declaration. The declaration covers Linn County as a result of the severe storms that occurred Aug. 10, 2020.

The U.S. Small Business Administration’s Disaster Field Operations Center-West opened a virtual Disaster Loan Outreach Center to meet the needs of businesses and individuals who were affected by the severe storms that occurred on Aug. 10, 2020. SBA representatives will answer questions about SBA’s disaster loan program, explain the application process and help each individual complete their electronic loan application.

Virtual Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Monday – Sunday (7 days/week), 8 a.m. – 8 p.m. EDT
(800) 659-2955

Public Assistance

Under the Public Assistance program, FEMA awards grants to assist state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations with the response to and recovery from disasters. The program provides funding for debris removal, implementation of emergency protective measures and permanent restoration of infrastructure. The program also encourages protection from future damage by providing assistance for hazard mitigation measures during the recovery process. The state works with FEMA to manage the program and administer the funding.

The counties that are approved for Public Assistance funding are: Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Dallas, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hardin, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Linn, Marshall, Muscatine, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story, Tama, and Washington.