Hunter Education is a mandatory course required to be completed before you can buy an Iowa Hunting license. This applies to anyone born after January 1, 1972.
Hunter Education courses introduce students to important life-long skills for outdoor recreational opportunities. These include basic survival and first-aid skills. Classes discuss water safety, wildlife identification, hunting laws, and firearm/archery safety. Hunter education also stresses wildlife management, the importance of individual responsibility, and outdoor ethics. You receive an education certificate stating you have successfully passed the course. This is needed to get your hunting license.
An Iowa resident who is 11 years or older may enroll in a hunter education course. The student must be 12 years old to receive a hunting license. Youth under 12 years can receive a turkey or deer hunting license, but must hunt with a licensed adult hunter.
Hunter Education Course Options
There are 4 options for hunter education courses:
- Classroom Instruction. Courses are usually scheduled March 1 - November 15. Classes are usually taught by volunteer hunters.
Find classroom registration information here: Iowa DNR License - Events Home (gooutdoorsiowa.com). If classes are full, you can join a waitlist.
- Online Course + Field Day (You must be 11 years or older to take the online course.) Find youth online courses here: Iowa Online Hunter Safety Course | Hunter-ed.com. Online courses are available anytime.
If you are under the age of 18, you must also register for a Field Day. Education certificates are issued at the completion of the Field Day. Here is the Field Day registration information: Iowa DNR License - Events Home (gooutdoorsiowa.com. If classes are full, you can join a waitlist.
- Adult Online Hunter Education course. Find adult online courses here: Iowa Online Hunter Safety Course | Hunter-ed.com. Online courses are available anytime. You can print out the education certificate once you have paid for and passed the course.
- Dual Hunter Education and Handgun Safety (online, you must be 21 years or older for this class). Find online class information here: Iowa Online Hunter Safety Course | Hunter-ed.com. Online courses are available anytime. You can print out the education certificate once you have paid for and passed the course.
Related Agency - Natural Resources
Address: Wallace State Office Building, 502 E. 9th St., Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: (515) 725-8200